Current News

Congratulations to Saadiya Jackson for being selected for the FYRE Leadership Alliance- Johns Hopkin’s University Humanities Collaboratory Summer Program. Saadiya also became the 2020 Award Recipient of the D.R.E.A.M Scholar. Additionally, she received the award for the most outstanding science student at Oxon Hill High School in 2020 and won 1st place at the Medical Science Oxon Hill HS STEM competition with research that she conducted as a high school student in Dr. Richardson’s laboratory.

Congratulations to Khukheper Awakwoiaye for being a part of the 2nd cohort of the Karsh STEM Scholars program. Khukheper also became an Alain Locke Scholar in the 2019-20 School Year. Additionally, he was apart of the Medical Scientist Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship at UC San Diego in the summer of 2020. He also was a campus ambassador for Genetech and a public health intern in 2020.

Congratulations to Jazmine Grant for becoming a 2021 Goldwater Scholar. She is also a part of the 2nd cohort of the Karsh STEM Scholars program. Jazmine became an Alain Locke Scholar in the 2019-20 School Year. Additionally, she was a part of the ACCESS Summer Internship Program at Weill Cornell Graduate School in the summer of 2020. Jazmine has her own STEM podcast called In Vivo Podcast where you can access here.

Congratulations to Imani Elliott for becoming a member of the Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society. She was also selected for the 2020 New England Science Symposium. Lastly, congratulations to Imani for graduating Fall 2020 from Howard University with her BS in Biology. She will entering medical school in Fall 2021.

Congratulations to Taylor Miller for being selected as a Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Scholar. She was also a poster presenter at the following conferences: the 23rd Annual HBCU Summit on Retention Conference, University of Minnesota Fall Biodiversity Conference, and the Howard Research Week Conference. Additionally, Taylor participated in the GEAR-UP program at the University of Cape Coast in Ghana in the summer of 2019. Lastly, she was a participant in the Translational Application of Nanoscale Multiferroic System (TANMS) at UCLA in 2019.

Congratulations to Taylor Phillips-Jones for beings selected in the inaugural cohort of the Karsh STEM Scholars program. She was also an undergraduate awardee for her oral presentation at the Black in Neuro Conference in November 2020. Taylor also participated in the following internships: the University of Minnesota’s LSSURP program (Summer 2018), the Gateways to the Laboratory Program at Weill Cornell Medical College (Summer 2019), and the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Research Institute Summer Scholars Program (Summer 2020).

Congratulations to Dr. Richardson (PI) and Dr. Robinson (Co-PI) on being awarded an NSF grant.

%d bloggers like this: